Four bills to be tabled in Parliament


Kathmandu, August 8 The government today decided to table four bills related to fundamental rights in the federal Parliament.

As per the decision taken by the Cabinet today, the bills include those related to amendment of Caste Discrimination and Untouchability Act 2011; Right to Housing; Social Security; and Protection of the Victims of Crime. The government also set the floor price of paddy for FY 2018-19 at Rs 2,331.22 for Mota Dhaan and Rs 2,460.57 for Madhyam Dhaan.

It also decided to change the name of Pokhara-Lekhnath Metropolitan City to Pokhara Metropolitan City.

As per the Cabinet decision, Province 5 acting Chief Secretary Tirtha Raj Dhakal and Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers Joint-Secretary Ananda Raj Dhakal were promoted to special rank, while home ministry Secretary Kedar Neupane has been made Province 3 chief secretary. Similarly, Kedar Neupane of home ministry has been made chief secretary of Province 1, while Provicne 3 chief secretary Rashmi Raj Pandey has been transferred to OPMCM.

The Cabinet also decided that the caste certificate distribution and recommendation made so far by the National Dalit Commission Secretariat would henceforth be done via related rural municipality, municipality, sub-metropolis or metropolitan city.