Image Award concludes with flair


KATHMANDU, Oct 8: Singers Deepak Bajarcharya and Kamal Khatri grabbed the limelight at the 20th Annual Image Award, held in Hotel Crowne Plaza Kathmandu, on Saturday.  Both singers bagged two awards each. Bajarcharya won the ‘Best Music Video’ and ‘Best Vocal Performance — Pop Male’ awards for his song ‘Mann Magan’. Khatri’s ‘Jaula Relaimai’ received the Best Composition of the Year and Best Song of the Year awards.

The nominees contested in 18 different categories. ‘Maya Luki Luki’ by Tika Prasain won the ‘Public Choice Award’, while Shreeya Sotang’s ‘Mann Chari’ bagged the award for the ‘Best Vocal Performance — Pop Female.’

Composer Prakash Gurung was felicitated with the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ for his contributions in Nepali music industry for over three decades. Likewise, Kulman Ghising, the managing director of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA), was also conferred ‘Personality of The Year’ for contributing to eliminate load shedding from the country.

The event also comprised energetic performances by the Nepali folk ensemble, Kutumba, Nima Rumba, 1974 AD, Cartoon Crewz, and many other artists. 20th Annual Image Award concluded with a sizzling dance performance by actor Priyanka Karki.

Winners of the 20th Annual Image Award 
– Best Lyrics of the Year: ‘Yo Aaina Banaudo’, Ananda Adhikari
– Best Composition of the Year: ‘Jaula Relaima’, Kamal Khatri
– Best Vocal Performance Group or Duo: ‘Hawa Gharaima’, Poojan Lohagan/ Anuparna       Pradhan
– Best New Artist of the Year: ‘Chhami Hernna’, Subash Chandra Joshi
– Best Folk Song Collection: ‘Bola Maya’, Prakash Saput
– Best Vocal performance Folk Song: ‘Dui Rupaiyako Bidi’, Sita Thapa
– Best Vocal Performance Dohori Song: ‘Rudai Rudai’, Meksam Khatri/ Ournakala BC
– Best Dohori Song of the Year: ‘Chin Chin Bajne Chura’, Samjana Bhandari
– Best Music Video Editor: ‘Timilai Chhudai’, Bikash Dhamala
– Best Music Video Director: ‘Don’t Kill Me’, Nishan Ghimire
– Best Music Video Cameraman: ‘Timiai Chhudai’, Buddha Thapa
– Best Music Video: ‘Mann Magan’, Deepak Bajaracharaya
– Best Vocal Performance Pop Male: ‘Mann Magan’, Deepak Bajaracharaya
– Best Vocal Performance Pop Female: ‘Maan Chari’, Shreeya Sotang
– Best Vocal Performance Male: ‘Jaau Timi’, Karma Gyalchen Bomzan
– Best Vocal Performance Female: ‘Ban Phool’, Durga Pariyar
– Best Song of the Year: ‘Jaula Relaima’, Kamal Khatri
– Public Choice Award: ‘Maya Luki Luki’, Tika Prasain